Watsonville runner aims for Paralympics

I just heard from Watsonville High runner Brian Knight. He graduated two years ago as one of the fastest cross country and 800 meter runners in the league. Knight was born with an under-developed right shoulder caused by a brachial plexus injury, and right after graduating he set his sights on the Paralympics, where he hopes to qualify in the 1,500. Here’s his update:

As you might remember, I go to UCLA and right now I’m in my second year studying history. I’m also training with coach Johnny Gray, the American record holder in the 800m (1:42.6 I think). This whole year I’ve been receiving coaching from him to prepare for the big races that are coming up in the next couple months that will qualify me to make the national team and that will take me to London to represent the country. I’ve had four official races, and one time trial in which I’ve acquired the A standard in both the 1500m and the 800m (unofficial, back in November). Now the only thing I need to be named to the national team is to run in a championship event. I’m not completely sure where this event will take place, but I’m almost certain that it’s going to be at the end of June/ beginning of July.

It’s also unofficial, but I ran a 1:56 800m in practice in November. So far, I’ve been mostly focusing on the 1500m.
Anyways, just wanted to send this to you to let you know that I’m still racing strong!
Brian

 

 

Categories: Olympic Preparation, Olympics, Photos, Running | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

