Camera woes

Last night, I’ll admit it, I had camera envy. While shooting the USA Trampoline Championships in San Jose I was standing next to the Associated Press photographer and noticed something … his camera’s frames per second was on par with an Uzi. Mine is more like a semi-automatic. Now, usually I love my camera — a Canon 20D I bought for myself as a 30th birthday present — but for indoor sports with bad lighting, it leaves something to be desired.

I shot the trials last night at ISO 1600, which is like film speed back in the days of film. The higher the ISO, the faster shutter speed you can use but more noise is introduced. Newer cameras can shoot ISO 6400 with little loss of quality.

What does this mean for my Olympics coverage? Not much really. I don’t have a press pass, so I won’t be in any venues shooting sports. And even if I do get lucky enough to get in, I bet the lighting will be pretty good. My photos will be scene setters, portraits (I hope) and maybe a triathlon photo or two. I’ll follow Americans as they try to watch the Games throughout London and may even just hang out on the Thames for a day shooting whatever I see.

So, long story short, I won’t be buying a fancy new camera to take with me to London. I don’t need one and can’t afford one. I’ll just make do with what I have. They say it’s the photographer, not the camera that makes good photos.

But I’d take a nice, new, fancy camera if it were free.

Categories: Olympics, Photos | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

