First full day in Amsterdam

THIS WAS YESTERDAY’S BLOG. IT HAS FINALLY BEEN POSTED.

Today was a nice vacation day for the two of us. We only thought about work and the Olympics about a dozen times or so. It was a day full of walking and doing tourisy things, but we enjoyed ourselves quite a bit.

We hit the flower market where Julie fell in love with all the tulips and really wanted to bring some home. Then we walked to the Van Gough museum where I had a revelation … I don’t really like museums. I noticed all the people just listening to their audio tour and spending about a minute with each painting and are usually standing about 1-2 feet away. It made me sad that they painting weren’t being enjoyed or appreciated like they were probably ment to be. It seems like they should be hung in someone’s home and really looked at for a long time. I sat down about halfway through and fell in love with a painting of the ocean that I really didn’t like when I saw it from so close. I guess it’s good for so many people to be enjoying them, but it just made me a little sad to think about it.

What didn’t make me sad was the Heineken museum. Beer tasting and two beers at the end. Can’t go wrong with that. Plus, I was selected for a marketing survey (where I told them marketing isn’t important, quality is) and was given a personalized glass for it. Had a canal ride back near the hotel (as part of the Heineken tour) and walked around for a while more before dinner, more walking and back to the hotel for night. Had some coffee and visited a cheese shop somewhere in there also.

I know you are here for the Olympics stuff, just just bare with us for another day or two.

Our free internet isn’t letting me post photos, so hopefully I can get them up once we make it to London.

Categories: Behind the Scenes, Travel | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

