Bevan Docherty looking good in tune-up

UPDATED 7/22/12
Santa Cruz Westside resident Bevan Docherty, a three-time Olympic triathlete for New Zealand, competed in an ITU sprint triathlon in Germany on Saturday and finished an impressive 11th. He finished as the top Kiwi even though by his own analysis he was “soft” in the latter part of the run.

“I’m happy with that, it’s the first time I’ve raced a sprint event in a few years. I thought I’d get my butt kicked but I was pleasantly surprised,” Docherty told the media post-race.

“I came out of the water okay and felt really great on the bike. My biking has been going well and today I felt really fresh, and that set me up for a good run. I was a bit soft over the last 500 metres, I could’ve dug in a bit more.”

Matt Chrabot, the Olympic alternate for the U.S. men’s team and a new transplant to Aptos, also competed and finished 30th 30. Matt Chrabot in 52:49.

Here is a link to the New Zealand Herald’s story on Docherty.

 

Categories: Bevan Docherty, Olympic Preparation, Olympics | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

