The best laid plans of mice and men

I said yesterday that I was going to shoot a boxing practice today as part of a story Julie has planned. Well, I didn’t lie … I was GOING TO shoot a boxing practice. Only today’s practice wasn’t open to the public, tomorrow’s is. So I’ll shoot it then. But I got there early while Julie was at the main media center for the beach volleyball press conference and had to wait for her. I tried to email her, but I didn’t have a wireless connection there. We’ll try again tomorrow.

While I waited I shot some stuff for work. Today the lines on the road were repainted to accommodate Olympic vehicles and shuttles. This caused a lot of confusion as there was a long line of cars down a little street leading into a residential area. I felt bad for them even though signs had been posted this would happen for months now. Still, it sucks to have your routine messed with.

After I met back up with Julie we headed to Brick Lane, which is full of Curry houses, coffee shops and hip clothing stores. It felt like a much narrower Haight Street in San Francisco. This was also near the area frequented by Jack the Ripper. In fact, I think victim No. 2, Annie Chapman, was found on the corner of Brick Lane and Hanburry Street, which happens to be near where we ate lunch (nice little Syrian place with good shawarma and the best ice tea I’ve ever had).

Pretty quick day. Most of our time was spend on the Underground or eating. We want to get an early start tomorrow, but it’s already past 9 p.m. and Julie isn’t back from the media center yet and she still needs to write a story. How is it that even when we don’t work at the paper and are on the other side of the world, we still go to bed at 2 a.m. every night?

Categories: Behind the Scenes, Olympic Preparation, Olympics, Photos | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

